• NFFC’s new Executive Committee announced image

The National Fruit Fly Council (NFFC) has recently completed an expression of interest process from the current Council members to join the NFFC Executive Committee.

The Executive Committee provides advice and guidance to the broader NFFC to help inform decisions and progresses projects and work agreed upon by the Council.

The new industry and state members are:

  • Nick Secomb (Department of Primary Industries and Regions South Australia)
  • Michael Reid (Queensland Department of Agriculture and Fisheries)
  • Steve Burdette (Approved Employers of Australia, returning member)
  • Alison MacGregor (Australian Table Grapes Association).

The Executive Committee will form part of a focused group contributing to, and improving Australia’s national fruit fly system that supports trade, positive biosecurity reputation, and plant industry business sustainability.

The new Executive Committee held its first meeting on Friday 24 May, progressing a number of critical fruit fly issues impacting Australian industries.